“A Gift Called Dad”

When I was younger, I never quite understood
your strange, unique and funny ways.
I didn’t appreciate much the wisdom of your words…
nor the lessons in your silence.
I took it for granted
that you put on hold your own dreams,
that I may live a comfortable and secured life.
I’d like to take this time to thank you, Dad.

Thank you for making time despite your work.
Thank you for guiding me
when I was struggling with the challenges I faced.
Thank you for your unconditional love
when I was headstrong and defiant.
Thank you for protecting me
and at the same time letting go,
as I strive for independence.
Now that I am older, I appreciate you more.
God has given me the greatest gift–
and that’s you, Dad.

(Author Unknown)

 

“The glory of children are their fathers.” Proverbs 17:6

Leave a Reply

