“And That Is Why You Are My Friend”

(Here’s a poem by Czarina H. Roldan which I learned in grade school. I was trying to google it to copy and paste, but I could not find it. Good thing I still remember it. I set it into a melody many years ago so I won’t forget it. It is so good to have a friend and to be someone else’s friend.)

You are my friend because
you share a laughter in my heart
that others cannot know.
You are my friend because
together without words
we worship our common deities
yet you never trespass the sanctuary
that is myself.
And I, though I stand in awe at the mystery of you being friend to me,
I stand in greater awe at the mystery that is yourself,
which in the sanctity of this friendship,
I might never know nor seek to know.
You are my friend because
absent or present you stay.
Laughter and praise,
reproach and blame you stay.
And that is why you are my friend.

2 thoughts on ““And That Is Why You Are My Friend”

  1. Very beautiful, thank you for remembering it and sharing. Peace love and blessings be yours to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

