“Obsessed with Dragon City”

Image

I was never fond of games on Facebook. I never enjoyed playing them and saw them as a waste of time. But for one reason or another, I got very interested in playing Dragon City. I’m a heavy sleeper and I sleep long hours. That’s how I renew my mental and bodily energy after a long day’s work. But since I played Dragon City, I have been waking up at 5 a.m. to feed my dragons, to plant food, to collect revenues from the habitats, and to engage in combat. And I love seeing my recent activity posted on my timeline. It gives me a different kind of joy. The same goes before I sleep. I used to sleep at 8 in the evening. But since I played Dragon City, I have been sleeping at 12 midnight or even a little past that. Around four months of that routine and I developed dark circles around my very tired looking eyes. I felt sleepy during the day at work. I kept telling myself, “I have to stop this insanity.” But I never stopped. I was very happy with my Dragon City, eye bags and all. I got so attached with that game, I could not give it up. I even had guilt issues with God concerning this game. I was like a pampered child testing the extent of God’s patience with my stubbornness.

Yesterday, I was checking on my privacy settings on my “Recent Activity” tag. I clicked something, and my activity in Dragon City was gone. I tried to recover it but could not undo what I clicked. I panicked and wailed. My teenage daughter could not relate with my reaction. She said incredulously, “Mom, I don’t get it. Most people would hide their activity in any Facebook game. And you’re bewailing the non-appearance of your activity in Dragon City on your timeline. Aren’t you overreacting, Mom?” I was clicking here and there to recover my activity in Dragon City. Then she joked, “Mom, are you really the one writing your blog, the ‘Medicine of God?'”

Then I thought, “Why am I even writing the “Medicine of God?” It is so presumptuous on my part, when I am not a theologian, a bible scholar, a priest, a nun, a religious. I am not even a good person.” After a moment of silence, I said to my daughter, “I’m writing the ‘Medicine of God’ because God is so good to me, so good, in fact, I don’t deserve it. It’s not because I’m good, but because God is good.”

God finally spoke. He clicked something and my recent activity in Dragon City can be seen no more. He wants me to give it up and to disentangle from everything about that game– the lack of sleep and rest, the wasted hours, the lack of focus, etc.

To uproot any attachment, anything at all for that matter, which has taken root and ramified deeply into our hearts could be really painful and upsetting. But what must be done must be done. There’s no going around it. Jesus said, “No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.” (Mt. 6:24) “Money” could be any attachments of ours.

4 thoughts on ““Obsessed with Dragon City”

Leave a Reply

