Burgers for God’s Angels

Image

There is a biblical injunction about giving alms in secret. “But when you give to the poor, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing,” (Mt. 6:3) It is the Father who should see our charitable acts in secret, otherwise, it will all be for an outward show which is not pleasing to the Father. Sometimes, my husband and I overdo it, acting like we’re spies in a detective story and our action should be strictly covert to avoid detection from others.

But there are times when you feel your kinship with the people around you, especially with people who have no way of reciprocating a favor or benefit you do for them, and you simply want to share the joy that is overflowing in your heart. One of those instances was the help extended to me by the gasoline boys and the security guard at the gasoline station where my car finally decided to have a respite from its daily toil. It was a Holy Wednesday and we were supposed to be on fasting and abstinence from meat. It was around lunchtime and I felt the blistering heat of the sun. I thought suddenly what a cool and refreshing idea if I could buy those boys burgers with ice cold soda. So I went to a fast food chain and bought the burgers and soda with fries. When I dropped by the said gas station, I looked for the guard and the boys who acted as God’s angels towards me when my car bogged down. I said to the guard, “Kuya, you remember me?” He nodded his recognition of me. Then I gave him the burgers and the soda and asked him to give the others to the gasoline boys. His eyes were shining like I did him a very big favor. And my heart was overflowing with joy. I kept the French fries, though. They were potatoes and I could eat them on a Holy Wednesday. Then I drove off with my heart singing.

These simple joys are such that only God can give. When you look at your fellow being and smile at him and do him a little kindness just because you are both part of God’s bigger family, you affirm the presence of God in him.

Jesus said, “… Verily I say unto you, inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.” (Mt. 25:40)

Leave a Reply

